//The Main Scheme
The Main Scheme2020-08-14T09:03:59+00:00

The Main Scheme

The Main Scheme facilitates primarily banks and building societies with balance sheet values in excess of £7bn (though smaller entities can opt to join this rather than the Alternative Scheme), that choose to participate (‘participants’), to transfer money from their dormant accounts to RFL, where surplus funds, deemed as being amounts in excess of what is required to meet future reclaims, can be distributed by RFL to The National Lottery Community Fund (previously known as Big Lottery Fund) and then onwards to good causes across the UK.

The Scheme (in compliance with the Dormant Bank and Building Society Accounts Act 2008) ensures that the right of account holders to reclaim their money, at any time, is protected in perpetuity by transferring the individual’s claim against the bank or building society to RFL.


Participating Banks and Building Societies:

  • Allied Irish Bank (UK) p.l.c.
  • ANZ – London branch
  • Bank Hapoalim – London branch
  • Bank Leumi UK plc
  • Barclays Bank PLC
  • Butterfield Bank (UK) Limited
  • CIMB Bank Berhad
  • Clydesdale Bank PLC
  • Commonwealth Bank of Australia – London branch
  • Consolidated Credits Bank Ltd
  • The Co-operative Bank plc
  • Credit Agricole
  • Danske Bank
  • Duncan Lawrie Limited
  • Emirates NBD – London branch
  • HSBC Bank plc
  • Intesa San Paolo
  • Lloyds Banking Group
    • Lloyds Bank plc
    • Bank of Scotland plc
  • Nationwide Building Society
  • NM Rothschild
  • Raphaels Bank
  • Riyad Bank
  • Royal Bank of Scotland
    • Adam & Company plc
    • Coutts & Co
    • National Westminster Bank plc
    • The Royal Bank of Scotland plc
    • Ulster Bank Limited
  • Santander UK plc
  • TSB Bank plc
  • Virgin Money plc